Place an order by
clicking on the
album cover below

Click Here to Order this CD or obtain more information on this band.

The Original Salty Dogs Playing Hot Classic Jazz

Listen to sound samples
from the CD below

1. Chelsea On Down
2. Camp Meeting Blues
3. Jazzin' Babies Blues
4. Nobody's Blues
But Mine
5. Sensation Rag
6. Rhythm King
7. Georgia Swin
8. Brown Bottom Bess
9. Black And Tan Fantasy
10. Santa Claus Blues
11. Once In A While
12. Apex Blues
13. Ory's Creole Trombone
14. Ragtime Dance
15. Chattanooga Stomp

The Original Salty Dogs Jazz Band

This CD contains another bunch of great tunes that you just don't hear every day. For example, unless you've heard the DOGS in person during the last two or three years, you probably have never heard CHELSEA ON DOWN before. It's a number written by Robin Wetterau, pianist with the Red Onion Jazz Band. The number was taped by Mike Walbridge while he was working with Turk Murphy a few years back. Pianist John Cooper transcribed it for the DOGS. CAMP MEETING BLUES contains a familiar strain, the one that Duke Ellington used as the basis for his "Creole Love Call". JAZZIN' BABIES BLUES was written by Richard M. Jones of Okeh records fame and dates back to the early 1920's. NOBODY'S BLUES BUT MINE, by Clarence Williams, was recorded by Bessie Smith. Its a different sort of blues number, with interesting key changes. SENSATION RAG is a number originally recorded by the Original Dixieland Jazz Band and was written by E. B. "Eddie" Edwards of that group. Composed by Joe Hoover and Jo' Trent, RHYTHM KING was a tune made famous in 1928 by "Bix Beiderbecke and His Gang". GEORGIA SWING is Jelly Roll Morton's famous number. It's a swinging tune and one that almost no jazz band (except the DOGS) tackles anymore. BROWN BOTTOM BESS was first recorded by the "Chicago Footwarmers", an all-black group of South Side Chicago musicians in July, 1928. BLACK AND TAN FANTASY was originally a collaboration by Duke Ellington and one of his trumpet players, Bubber Miley. SANTA CLAUS BLUES is an unlikely composition done by Roy Bargy in 1919. ONCE IN A WHILE is not that insipid pop tune of the 1940s, but a solid stomp from the pen of William H. Butler. Jimmie Noone's APEX BLUES is next up, with Green's cornet and Snyder's trombone replacing the original Noone clarinet and Joe Poston alto sax in the classic opening. Cusack comes in with a very fine low register solo, followed by a truely beautiful blues piano solo by John Cooper. Snyder's glissandos carry the band into the last choruses. ORY'S CREOLE TROMBONE is another tour de force for the DOGS. Kerry Mills penned the RAGTIME DANCE back in 18-whatever. The CD closes with CHATTANOOGA STOMP originally recorded by King Oliver in 1925.